My Week in Tri: 29 May

Results and 9 Bullets

My Week in Triathlon

My triathlon thoughts and learnings over the last week. Hit reply if you have feedback!

  • WTCS Cagliari results: 

    • Women 1) Georgia Taylor-Brown, 2) Emma Lombardi, 3) Taylor Spivey

    • Men 1) Alex Yee, 2) Hayden Wilde, 3) Leo Bergere

  • Ironman Brazil results: 

    • Women 1) Pamella Oliveira, 2) Mariana Andrade, 3) Alex Watt

    • Men 1) Luciano Taccone, 2) Reinaldo Colucci, 3) Andre Lopes

  • Apfelland Triathlon results: 

    • Women 1) Maja Stage-Nielsen, 2) Svenja Thoes, 3) Rebecca Robisch

    • Men 1) Tom Hug, 2) Michael Weiss, 3) Max Hammerle

  • Race titbits: Cagliari: Taylor-Brown finally made the front pack of the swim/bike to set up her win. The swim was particularly tough showing how vulnerable the weaker swimmers are. Beaugrand is my favorite for a home Olympic Gold after having the fastest run (again) - 20s faster than GTB. Zaferes did well at 12th but her run was a whole minute behind GTB. Jorgensen was significantly behind after the swim and got pulled off the course after being lapped on the bike. The top 7 men all went under 30min for the run (although the run course was apparently 300m short). Blummenfelt came 15th with a 29:31 run - exactly 1min slower than Yee! Iden’s run was a further 1:44 slower at 31:15, taking him to another disappointing 42nd overall. Brazil: Taccone and Oliveira had comfortable wins. Wurf didn’t end up racing as expected. Apfelland: Tom Hug won St. Polten last weekend and won again here - an athlete to keep an eye on.

  • Giro d’Italia: Not triathlon but the race was pretty epic and professional cycling always adds to my motivation to get training. Primoz Roglic started the final time trial in second place and 27s behind Geraint Thomas. The TT was a spectacle due to the first half being flat and the second half being up a mountain…and a transition area to allow riders to swap out their TT bikes for a climbing bike! Even with a mechanical, Roglic took the stage win by 40s enabling him to win the race. I do ride a Cervelo P5D so always have a soft-spot for Jumbo-Visma. Just over a month until the Tour de France.

  • Pallant-Browne period: a photo of Emma Pallant-Browne surfaced on social media showing her period while racing in Ibiza. Emma replied to the comments pointing out her period stating: “Thanks for caring but definitely something I’m not shy to talk about because it’s the reality of females in sport…” and went on to talk about her personal difficulties with having a period on race day. Article by Tri247 here with full quote and picture.

  • DC Rainmaker race report: The wildly popular tech reviewer put up a characteristically thorough race report after the Aix-en-Provence 70.3. It’s long but entertaining and ends in him peeing blood and being in the medical tent! Crazy. His wife actually wanted to get back into racing and he’s been sucked along for the ride. Race report here.

  • Skateboard Warning: Two weeks ago, I hopped on my skateboard to meet my wife and daughter at a play park. Just 20 meters outside my driveway I lost my balance. The skateboard went flying into the neighbours driveway and I landed flat on my lower back in an embarrassed mess. I quickly stood up and fetched my skateboard, trying to ignore the blood seeping through my sleeve by my elbow. I kept training for the next 3 days but on the 4th day my back said “NO MORE!” and went into spasm.After some physio sessions my back has slowly eased up but I still haven’t attempted any exercise yet...and I had to miss a race! Moral of the story: stay off of a skateboard if you’re a triathlete and over the age of 30!

  • Quote:You don’t need more time. You just need to decide.” - Seth Godin.

That's it for today, now finish your oats and get back to training! If you have any feedback or suggestions, please reply and let me know!

Yours in low CdA,

Aero MaccaFrodownlee

Please share this newsletter with anyone you think will enjoy it or if it was sent to you and you would like to subscribe click the below button: